Tanzania Elections: The Ruling Party CCM Announces its Presidential Nominee

14th July 2015 Analysis, Regional Document

Officially known as the United Republic of Tanzania, the low-income East African nation is a merger of the mainland (formerly known as Tanganyika) and the archipelago of Zanzibar. After independence from Britain in 1961, Tanzania was ruled as a one-party socialist system, under the leadership of Julius Nyerere—its founding father. The ruling party Chama Cha Mapinduzi (CCM)1 retained its political dominance after the current multi-party system was introduced in 1992. Current president Jakaya Kikwete—the country’s fifth president— will not run in this year’s presidential election, as he has served two consecutive terms since he was first elected in 2005. Both parliamentary and presidential elections are scheduled for 25 October in the mainland, while Zanzibar will also elect its president and subnational legislature on the same day.

use link to download the full PDF of the document

1507_Tanzania Elections the Ruling Party CCM Announces its Presidential Nominee